Lost In My Mind On The Walk Home

Posted: April 4, 2011 in Folk, Indie, Music, Photography
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Long Walk Home by Ashlee Betteridge

Another request, but this time from a photographer who is based in Australia. Ashlee Betteridge let me select my favourite image from her Flickr site, which included ‘Long Walk Home’ from her time spent in Indonesia. It is a photograph of a boy walking home from school in the farmlands around Bukittinggi, West Sumatra.

To suit such a wonderfully taken shot I wanted to find something to suit the pace of the boy walking home. The smoke in the background also reminded me of locomotion (no, not Kylie Minogue). I found ‘Lost In My Mind’ by The Head And The Heart, who are an exciting band from Seattle to keep an eye on. The song matches both aspects I was looking for; part of the song even sounds like a train (the “woo-ooh’s” to use a technical term)! Lots of links for you to click on below, because both artists deserve your time and attention…

The Head And The Heart info: Official Site, Myspace, Facebook, Buy on Amazon

Ashlee Betteridge info: FlickrMain Site, Blog

Comments
  1. Ashlee says:

    Thankyou for featuring my photo. I love the track you have selected to go with it, it is just lovely and suits the mood of the image so well!

  2. Brittany says:

    I really love your music choice to accompany this photo 🙂

  3. Meliko says:

    Great concept! Like the pairing of Long Walk Home and the schoolboy walking home photo.

  4. alex shimray says:

    love the photography …even more wit the music

Leave a Reply

